Luo among 110 new languages added to Google Translate

Luo among 110 new languages added to Google Translate
Google Translate adds 110 new languages using AI in largest ever expansion.

Kampala, Uganda | By Michael Wandati | Google Translate recently made a significant stride in global communication by expanding its language support to encompass 110 new languages, underscoring a commitment to inclusivity and accessibility across diverse regions. This expansion includes a variety of languages from East Africa, reflecting Google’s dedication to meeting the linguistic needs of a global audience.

Among the newly added languages are Acholi, Afar, Alur, Dinka, Dzongkha, Kiga, Luo, Ndau, and Rundi, primarily spoken in nations such as Uganda, Ethiopia, and Kenya. This enhancement not only enriches communication capabilities for local users but also fosters cultural exchange and understanding on a global scale.

The integration of these East African languages represents a significant step towards bridging linguistic barriers and broadening the inclusivity of translation services within diverse communities. Users can now seamlessly translate texts to and from these languages, facilitating smoother communication in everyday interactions and business contexts alike.

In a notable development, Google has included Luo among the new additions, spoken by millions — comprising several Nilotic ethnic groups found across Egypt, Sudan, South Sudan, Ethiopia, Northern Uganda, eastern DRC, western Kenya and a part of Tanzania, and other parts of East Africa. This expansion aims to break down language barriers and promote cross-cultural understanding, highlighting the importance of African languages in the digital era.

“Expanding our language offerings in Google Translate is central to our mission of making information universally accessible,” remarked a Google spokesperson. “Adding languages like Luo is a significant step towards fostering global understanding and inclusivity.”

The inclusion of Luo and other languages is expected to have profound impacts on education, business, and personal communication worldwide. Students and educators can access educational materials in their native languages, while businesses gain better access to new markets.

Moreover, this expansion empowers smaller language communities by preserving their linguistic heritage and promoting the use of their languages in digital platforms. It also encourages the documentation and study of these languages, many of which are underrepresented globally.

Google Translate’s expansion coincides with a growing recognition of the importance of linguistic diversity in technology. With this update, the platform now supports over 300 languages, making it one of the most comprehensive translation services available.

Also Read: Why Ugandans should realize the importance of learning Kiswahili

These new languages leverage Google’s advanced machine learning models, continually enhancing translation accuracy. Users can access these languages through the Google Translate app and website, benefiting from real-time translation and other features.

As technology evolves, initiatives like Google Translate’s expansion underscore the significance of making digital tools accessible to speakers of all languages. This latest update not only enhances the functionality of Google Translate but also reaffirms Google’s commitment to creating a more interconnected and inclusive global community.

Here is a table listing the 110 new languages added to Google Translate:

2AcehneseSoutheast Asia
3AcholiEast Africa
4AfarEast Africa
5AlurEast Africa
7AwadhiSouth Asia
8BalineseSoutheast Asia
9BaluchiSouth Asia
10BaouléWest Africa
12Batak KaroSoutheast Asia
13Batak SimalungunSoutheast Asia
14Batak TobaSoutheast Asia
15BembaSouthern Africa
16BetawiSoutheast Asia
17BikolSoutheast Asia
20CantoneseEast Asia
21ChamorroPacific Islands
23ChuukesePacific Islands
25Crimean TatarEurope
26DariCentral Asia
27DinkaEast Africa
29DyulaWest Africa
30DzongkhaSouth Asia
32FijianPacific Islands
33FonWest Africa
35FulaniWest Africa
36GaWest Africa
37Hakha ChinSoutheast Asia
38HiligaynonSoutheast Asia
40IbanSoutheast Asia
41Jamaican PatoisCaribbean
42JingpoSoutheast Asia
43KalaallisutNorth America
44KanuriWest Africa
45KapampanganSoutheast Asia
46KhasiSouth Asia
47KigaEast Africa
48KikongoCentral Africa
49KitubaCentral Africa
50KokborokSouth Asia
56LuoEast Africa
57MadureseSoutheast Asia
58MakassarSoutheast Asia
59Malay (Jawi)Southeast Asia
60MamCentral America
62MarshallesePacific Islands
63MarwadiSouth Asia
64Mauritian CreoleAfrica
65Meadow MariRussia
66MinangSoutheast Asia
67Nahuatl (Eastern Huasteca)North America
68NdauEast Africa
69Ndebele (South)Southern Africa
70Nepalbhasa (Newari)South Asia
72NuerEast Africa
75PangasinanSoutheast Asia
77Portuguese (Portugal)Europe
78Punjabi (Shahmukhi)South Asia
79Q’eqchi’Central America
81RundiEast Africa
82Sami (North)Europe
83SangoCentral Africa
84SantaliSouth Asia
85Seychellois CreoleAfrica
86ShanSoutheast Asia
89SusuWest Africa
90SwatiSouthern Africa
91TahitianPacific Islands
92TamazightNorth Africa
93Tamazight (Tifinagh)North Africa
94TetumSoutheast Asia
95TibetanEast Asia
96TivWest Africa
97Tok PisinPacific Islands
98TonganPacific Islands
99TswanaSouthern Africa
100TuluSouth Asia
101TumbukaSouthern Africa
104VendaSouthern Africa
106WaraySoutheast Asia
107WolofWest Africa
109Yucatec MayaCentral America