19 MPs so far sign motion to censure Gen. Elly Tumwine

19 MPs so far sign motion to censure Gen. Elly Tumwine
Security Minister Gen. Elly Tumwine

Kampala, Uganda | URN | 19 Members of Parliament (MPs) have so far signed a censure motion against Security Minister General Elly Tumwine.

Last week, Parliament started the process of censuring Gen. Tumwine for frustrating investigations into torture of Ugandans and also blocking Members of Parliament in the Human Rights Committee from doing their work.

The house amended the human rights committee report to include closing all safe houses in the country and initiating a censure motion against Tumwine.

Mbwatekamwa Gaffa, the Kasambya county MP presented to the Clerk to Parliament a censure motion against Security Minister.

However, this publication has learnt that 19 MPs have signed the motion to censure the Minister out of the required 153 members of Parliament.

The Parliament’s rule of procedure says that at least one-third of the Members of Parliament should append their signatures on the list if the motion is to proceed.

Read Also: Gen Elly Tumwine defends raid on Parliament of Uganda

After ten working days, if less than one-third of all the MPs have appended their signatures on the list, the Notice of Censure shall cease. This now means the MPs have until Thursday 20th next week to solicit for signatures.

According to Mbwatekamwa, the process is going on slowly and they are hopeful that more members will sign. He, however, claims that some MPs have been influenced to stay away.

However, some MPs claimed over 40 people had already signed the document.