34-year-old McKinstry named new Uganda Cranes coach

34-year-old McKinstry named new Uganda Cranes coach
Jonathan Mckinstry (center) is handed a Cranes Jersey by FUFA President Justus Mugisha (second-right) at FUFA House in Mengo on Monday. ( COURTESY PHOTO/FUFA)

Kampala, Uganda | By Michael Wandati | Former Rwanda and Sierra Leone national coach Johnathan McKinstry has today Monday 30th, September 2019 been appointed on a three year deal by the Federation of Uganda Football Association (FUFA) as Cranes’ new head coach to replace Sebastien Desabre, who stayed in Egypt after the Africa Cup of Nations to work with Pyramids FC.

The 34-year-old North Irishman was unveiled to the media at FUFA House in Mengo.

“Allow me to inform you that the FUFA executive chose as the new Cranes coach on a three-year contract, starting October 1, 2019,” announced FUFA CEO Edgar Watson on Monday morning.

Since the departure of Desabre, Police FC tactician Abdallah Mubiru along with Onduparaka’s Livingstone Mbabazi have been in charge of the team.

“There is no doubt that the Uganda Cranes job is one of the best jobs in international football across all over Africa,” McKinstry told media upon appointment.

“Excited to be here. The players here are the group I believe we can achieve a lot with,” he added.

Who is Jonathan Mckinstry?

McKinstry is a Northern Irish UEFA Pro licensed football manager.

Previously McKinstry managed Bangladesh side Saif SC, Rwanda national team, Sierra Leone national team, and Kauno Zalgris in the A Lyga. Whilst in charge of Sierra Leone, McKinstry was the youngest international manager in the world at 27 years old.

However, his footballing career remains a mystery.

Uganda Cranes Coaches since 1969

– Burkhard Pape – 1969-1972
– David Otti – 1973-1974
– Westerhoff Otto – 1974-1975
– Peter Okee – 1976-1981, 1983
– Bidandi Ssali- 1982
– George Mukasa – 1984-1985
– Barnabas Mwesigwa – 1986-1988
– Robert Kiberu – 1988-1989
– Polly Ouma – 1989-1995
– Timothy Ayieko – 1995-1996
– Asuman Lubowa – 1996-1999
– Paul Hasule – 1999
– Harrison Okagbue 1999-2001
– Paul Hasule- 2001-2003
– Pedro Pasculi – 2003
– Leo Adraa – 2003-2004
– Mike Mutebi – 2004
– Mohammood Abbas – 2004-2006
– Laszlo Csaba- 2006-2008
– Bobby William- 2008-2013
– Milutin ‘Micho’ Sredojevic – 2013-2017
– Moses Basena –August 2017 – 27th December 2017
– Sébastien Desabre – 28th December 2017 – 6th July 2019
– Abdallah Mubiru – 10th July 2019 (Interim)

– …………………………………….– September 2019