NRM wins Hoima, Kaabong woman MP seats

NRM wins Hoima, Kaabong woman MP seats
In Hoima, Ms Harriet Businge was declared winner with 33,301 votes while Ms Christine Tubo Nakwang won overwhelmingly with 22,532 votes in Kaabong District. They beat FDC candidates in the race.

Hoima, Uganda | URN | Harriet Mugenyi Businge has been declared winner of the hotly contested Hoima Woman MP by-election. Businge of the National Resistance Movement (NRM) was declared winner at 3:30 am on Friday.

She polled 33,301 votes beating Asinansi Nyakato of the Forum for Democratic Change who garnered 28,789 votes.

Businge was declared winner by the Hoima Returning Officer, Douglas Matsiko.

Speaking shortly after being declared winner, Businge pledged to work with the people of Hoima regardless of tribal and political differences.

Simon Byabakama, the Chairperson Electoral commission applauded the people of Hoima for exhibiting respect and discipline during the elections.

Paul Mwiru, the Jinja East Member of Parliament who was a member Nyakato’s campaign task force said that although their candidate lost, the opposition has drummed up support in Bunyoro, which they will build on in the 2021 elections.

The seat fell vacant after the incumbent Tophace Kaahwa Byagira opted to represent the people of the newly created Kikuube district that was carved out of Hoima and became operational on July 1, 2019.

In Kaabong District, Ms Christine Tubo Nakwang of NRM won overwhelmingly with 22,532 votes while her contender Ms Judith Nalibe Adyaka of FDC got only 1,692 out of 26,189 total number of ballot papers counted.

NRM wins Hoima, Kaabong woman MP seats
Ms Christine Tubo Nakwang won overwhelmingly with 22,532 votes in Kaabong District.

Kaabong District returning officer, Mr Julius Ongom said the total number of valid votes cast for candidates was 24,224 ballots.

“Congratulations to my daughters, Businge Harriet Mugenyi (Hoima) and Tubo Christine Nakwang (Kaabong) for their victories in the parliamentary by-elections held yesterday. I congratulate the NRM structures in the two districts for doing a good job and delivering these victories,” President Museveni tweeted on Friday.

Both seats fell vacant after the incumbents chose to represent new districts that became operational on July 1. For Hoima, Ms Tophas Kaahwa opted to represent Kikuube while for Kaabong, Ms Lily Akello chose Karenga District.

Read Also: Police, Army battle Bobi Wine supporters in Hoima

In a dramatic turn of events during campaigns in Kaabong, Ms Nalibe recently wrote to Electoral Commission (EC), withdrawing her candidature from the race. However, her party wrote to EC, rejecting her withdrawal.
Ms Nalibe’s name was on the ballot paper since she was nominated by her party even after she threatened to sue EC if they printed here name.