Here are Kenya’s political bigwigs who lost in the UDA primaries

Here are Kenya's political bigwigs who lost in the UDA primaries
Laikipia Woman Rep Cate Waruguru lost to Amin Deddy.

Nairobi, Kenya | By Michael Wandati | Deputy President William Ruto’s political party, the United Democratic Alliance (UDA) on Thursday 14, April 2022 concluded its primaries in 38 counties.

On Thursday 14 night, the DP William Ruto expressed satisfaction with the exercise that kicked off early morning.

“We have delivered at least 60 per cent what the IEBC does with one per cent budget of the IEBC,” said DP William Ruto who is also a presidential hopeful in the August 9th General Elections.

As for the violent incidents witnessed throughout the day in various polling stations, the DP said the party will take stern action against those found culpable.

“I am a very proud member of UDA. We have demonstrated that it is possible for a party as young as UDA to deliver a credible, believable and democratic election,” he said.

However, with the exercise being said to have been free and fair, some might disagree after they lost in their respective areas.

One of the biggest losers in the UDA primaries is Laikipia Woman Rep Cate Waruguru who lost to Amin Deddy.

Deddy garnered 12,743 votes against Waruguru’s 5,595, a difference of 7,148 votes.

Deddy will now fly the UDA flag as he contests for the Laikipia East parliamentary seat.

Also being floored in the primaries was Naivasha MP Jayne Kihara.

She lost to her predecessor John Kihagi. Mr Kihagi garnered 10,394 votes against Mrs Kihara’s 9,991.

Thika MP Wainaina Jungle is also counting his losses after he was beaten by Kiambu Senator Kimani Wamatangi for the gubernatorial ticket.

The hotly contested race saw the senator get 68,786 votes against Jungle’s 50,446 votes.

Other nominees for the UDA ticket were former Governor Ferdinand Waititu and Eric Muturi.

Though the final results are not out yet, University lecturer Erick Mutai is on the verge of winning the UDA nominations in Kericho against former energy CS Charles Keter.

In Njoro, former Radio presenter Njogu wa Njoroge has conceded defeat.

He lost to sitting MP Charity Kathambi.

Read Also: Kenyans attack Bobi Wine for supporting Babu Owino’s 2022 re-election bid

“Our ambition, vision and dream for Njoro have been overtaken by a better vision. We are satisfied. I wish Hon Charity Kathambi all the best,” he said.

Ex-chief of staff in the Office of DP Ruto Maryanne Kitany beat Aldai MP Cornelius Serem.

Kitany who also happens to be Meru Senator Mithika Linturi’s estranged wife garnered 16,597 votes while Mr Serem got 13,878.

Paul Pyego alias Polo defeated Chesumei MP Wilson Kogo.

Polo got 21,370 against 12,980 votes of the incumbent.

Sirikwa MCA Alfred Mutai beat incumbent MP and Deputy Speaker Moses Cheboi in the Kuresoi North nominations.

Mutai got 17,247 votes, while Cheboi got 12,454 votes.

Email your news tips to or WhatsApp +256776671021. You can also find us on Telegram through